Gifts for book lovers who read on a Kindle
The reader in your life reads on a screen. Here is what the digital gifts actually are, which ones they keep, and the one you should probably not buy for someone who has never subscribed.
Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this
Free trial for eligible customers. Amazon shows the length and the price on the signup page, and the trial converts to a paid month automatically unless you cancel. Terms verified 14 September 2026.
#ad · The link goes straight to Amazon's Kindle Unlimited signup page, and we are paid a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial there. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we conclude on this page. Full disclosure.

Buying for a reader used to be simple: you bought a book. Buying for a reader who reads on a Kindle is less obvious, because the digital options come in three different shapes — books they own, books they borrow, and a device to read them on — and they are not interchangeable. This page is for the giver who wants to get that right without learning how Amazon's reading services work.
Three shapes of digital gift, and what each leaves behind
- Books they keep. A Kindle book bought as a gift sits in their library permanently. It is the closest thing to wrapping a hardback, and it carries a choice you made about them.
- Books they borrow. A Kindle Unlimited subscription. Amazon describes it as borrowing “up to 20 titles at a time from a wide selection of genres, all with no due dates” — and when the subscription ends, the loans end with it. It is a good gift for a heavy reader in the right genres and a strange one for anyone else.
- Something to read on. An e-reader. Outside what this site does — we test nothing and sell nothing — but worth naming, because if they read on a phone it is the gift that changes the experience most.
The gifted subscription, honestly described
Amazon's help page, read on 14 September 2026, says you can “give a Kindle Unlimited subscription as a gift, choosing between 6-, 12-, and 24-month options”. That page confirms the mechanics but does not state what the gift costs, so we do not either — the price Amazon quotes at purchase is the one that governs. What we can tell you is what it delivers and to whom it is worth delivering.
It is worth giving to a reader who already subscribes and reads inside the catalog's strong genres. It is a poor gift for someone who has never tried it (see the trial caveat above), and a poor gift for a reader of new hardback fiction or serious non-fiction, because those are the areas where the catalog is thinnest — our pages on Kindle Unlimited for non-fiction and whether Kindle Unlimited is worth it say so at length. If you know which authors they read, thirty seconds on checking what is in the catalog will tell you whether the gift will land.
Two practical points. They do not need a Kindle — Amazon says the subscription works “on any Kindle device, smartphone, computer, or tablet through the free Kindle app”. And the catalog moves: Amazon states plainly that “titles in the Kindle Unlimited catalog can change at any time”, so a 24-month gift is a bet on the catalog staying good for the things they read.
Kindle Unlimited terms verified 14 September 2026 against Amazon's help page, Understanding the Kindle Unlimited Subscription and Benefits.
When books they keep are the better gift
For most readers, two or three Kindle books chosen for them beat a subscription. The books are permanent, the total is a known amount, nothing bills anyone later, and the choice is the point. A gifted subscription is a commitment attached to somebody else's calendar: if they are busy for the six months you paid for, most of the gift evaporates. Giving Kindle Unlimited as a gift sets out the same trade-off from the recipient's side.
If they also listen, note that some Kindle Unlimited titles include narration, marked with a headset icon on the book page in Amazon's description — but the listening half of the household is better served by the audiobook gift guide, which covers titles they keep and credit bundles.
The free gifts, which are not lesser gifts
A public library card set up in the Libby app gives them ebooks at no cost, permanently, from most US libraries — Libby's own help page says all you need is a library card. We are paid nothing for saying so. Setting it up for someone takes about ten minutes. Where free Kindle books come from covers the other free routes, including the ones that put permanent books in their library rather than loans.
And if they have never tried Kindle Unlimited, the trial is free: you can send them the Kindle Unlimited trial — a free trial for eligible customers, of a length Amazon does not state on the page we checked, converting to whatever Amazon quotes you at signup unless canceled. The length and price show on the signup page, which is the only place Amazon states them.
Not Everand, for now
Everand is the other ebook-and-audiobook subscription people reach for as a gift. Scribd's own help center, in an article updated 26 March 2026 and read on 14 September 2026, says “purchasing a gift subscription is currently unavailable” while it reviews the program; previously bought gifts can still be redeemed. If that changes we will update this line. Our ebook subscriptions comparison covers how the services differ for the reader themselves.
Before you buy: a four-item check
- Do they read on the Kindle app or a Kindle? Kindle books and Kindle Unlimited only work there. A Kobo reader is a different store.
- Have they ever had a Kindle Unlimited trial? If not, send it.
- Which genres? Romance, fantasy and mystery are where the catalog is deep. Literary hardbacks and serious non-fiction, mostly not.
- Tell them the gift may convert to a paid subscription at the end, and to check their membership settings when it arrives.
Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this
We get a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial through this link. It costs you nothing extra, it does not change what we conclude on this page, and the full disclosure is here.
If they have never tried it, this is the free version of the gift
Amazon shows the trial length and the monthly price on its own signup page. Send the link with a note about which authors to search for first, and a reminder that it converts unless canceled.
Free trial for eligible customers. Amazon shows the length and the price on the signup page, and the trial converts to a paid month automatically unless you cancel. Terms verified 14 September 2026.
#ad · The button goes straight to Amazon's Kindle Unlimited signup page. The offer you see there is whatever Amazon is running at the moment you click, which is why we send you to look rather than printing a number that could be out of date. What we checked, and when, is on how we research.
Common questions
Can you gift Kindle Unlimited?
Does the recipient keep the books from a gifted Kindle Unlimited subscription?
Do they need a Kindle device to use a gifted subscription?
Is a gifted subscription a bad idea for someone who has never tried Kindle Unlimited?
What is the best gift for a reader who reads a lot of romance or fantasy?
Should I buy them a Kindle?
Sources
Everything on this page that states a program term was checked against these pages on the review date above.
- Amazon help: Understanding the Kindle Unlimited Subscription and Benefits, including the gifting line
- Audible's own membership pricing and free-trial block, audible.com
- Libby help: Getting started with Libby, on free library ebooks and audiobooks
- Scribd/Everand help center: An update on promotions, referrals, and gift subscriptions
Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this
Ready to try Kindle Unlimited free?
Free trial for eligible customers. Amazon shows the length and the price on the signup page, and the trial converts to a paid month automatically unless you cancel. Terms verified 14 September 2026.
#ad · The link goes straight to Amazon's Kindle Unlimited signup page, and we are paid a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial there. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we conclude on this page. Full disclosure.
Back to everything on Guides.