Audible vs Kindle Unlimited
They are separate subscriptions with separate catalogs and separate fees. Holding one gives you nothing on the other, and mixing them up is the most expensive mistake in this category.
Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this
New customers only. 30 days free, then it renews automatically at the monthly rate shown at signup unless you cancel first. Terms verified 17 September 2026.
Free trial for eligible customers. Amazon shows the length and the price on the signup page, and the trial converts to a paid month automatically unless you cancel. Terms verified 14 September 2026.
#ad · The link goes straight to Audible's own free-trial signup page and Amazon's Kindle Unlimited signup page, and we are paid a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial there. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we conclude on this page. Full disclosure.

The first thing to get straight is that these two are not tiers of the same product. Audible is an audiobook membership built around monthly credits. Kindle Unlimited is an ebook subscription built around borrowing. They are billed separately, they have separate catalogs, and neither includes the other. Amazon owns both and signs you into both with the same account, which is why so many people arrive here assuming otherwise.
Side by side
| Audible | Kindle Unlimited | |
|---|---|---|
| Format | Audiobooks | Ebooks, plus narration on some titles |
| How you get titles | A catalog while you are a member, plus credits you spend on titles you keep | Borrowing only. Nothing you borrow becomes yours |
| Limit at once | Not stated on a page we could read | 20 titles, no due dates |
| Monthly price | $8.99 or $14.95 | Shown at signup; we could not verify a figure |
| Keep it after canceling? | Credit purchases, yes. Catalog listening, no | No |
| Free trial | 30 days, new members only | Offered to eligible customers. Amazon does not state the length on a page we could read |
| Where it plays | Phone, tablet, computer, and any Alexa device on the same Amazon account | Any Kindle device, phone, tablet or computer through the free Kindle app |
| Household sharing | Not stated on a page we could read | Amazon states content can be shared with Amazon Family members |
| The thing that catches people out | Hoarding credits instead of spending them | Assuming a book is included because it is on Amazon |
Every figure above is either verified against the program's own page on the date shown below, or explicitly marked as something we could not confirm. We do not fill gaps with numbers from review sites.
Audible Premium Plus: what we could verify
Verified 17 September 2026
| Cost per month | $14.95 |
|---|---|
| Free trial | 30 days |
| Who can take it | New members only. Audible's own wording is that each plan offers a 30-day free trial to new members, and that eligible new members can sign up for a free trial anytime. Audible's help center adds one published window, read 24 August 2026: you will not be eligible for a free 30-day trial if you have already taken advantage of it within the last 12 months. That states an exclusion rather than a promise, so treat twelve months as the earliest point worth checking again. |
| Current promotion | Prime members only, re-read on Audible's own site on 27 September 2026: Audible Standard at $0.99 a month for 4 months plus a $20 Audible credit, auto-renewing at $8.99 a month afterwards, offer ends October 7, 2026 at 11:59PM PT. The $20 credit was added to Audible's own banner between our 17 September and 27 September reads; the rate, the renewal rate and the end date are unchanged. This is a discounted paid membership from day one, not a longer free trial, and Audible's page does not say whether taking it uses up new-member trial eligibility. The standard 30-day free trial was still offered beside it. |
Checked against Audible's own membership pricing block on 17 September 2026. How we check these.
What we could not confirm
- Whether either annual plan carries the 30-day free trial. The two monthly rows on Audible's Plans & Pricing page say 'Try for $0.00' and name the trial; the two annual rows say only 'Auto-renews at ... Cancel anytime.' Audible does not state either way, so neither do we.
- The size of the listening catalog. Catalog counts are marketing figures that change constantly and we could not confirm one against a dated source.
Kindle Unlimited: what we could verify
Verified 14 September 2026
| Cost per month | Not published in a page we can read — see below |
|---|---|
| Free trial | A trial exists for eligible customers; the length is not stated on the page we checked |
| Who can take it | Amazon's help page says a free trial is available to eligible customers, and that you need an Amazon account with a current, valid payment method to use the subscription. Amazon does not publish the full eligibility rule in the pages we can read, so check what your own account is offered at signup. |
Checked against Amazon's help page, Understanding the Kindle Unlimited Subscription and Benefits on 14 September 2026. How we check these.
What we could not confirm
- The monthly price. Amazon renders it in JavaScript on the signup page, and the Kindle Unlimited Terms of Use did not state a figure in the content we could retrieve. We are not going to print a number we could not read on an Amazon page, so this site shows the price as something to check at signup.
- The length of the free trial. Amazon's help page confirms a trial exists for eligible customers but does not state how long it runs, and the length has historically varied by account and by promotion.
- The size of the catalog. Amazon does not publish a figure we could confirm, and it states that the catalog changes at any time.
The real question is not which, it is whether
Comparing these two against each other feels natural and is mostly useless, because they do different jobs. A commuter who listens for an hour a day and a genre reader who gets through five paperbacks a month are not choosing between two options — they each have one obvious answer and one irrelevant product.
The comparison that actually decides anything is between each subscription and what you would otherwise spend. Both the Audible page and the Kindle Unlimited page run that arithmetic, and either can come out negative. If it has already come out positive for you, the trial is the cheapest way to check the answer against real books: you can start your free Audible trial or try Kindle Unlimited free and find out inside a month.
Pick Audible if
- You have real listening time — commute, gym, walking, chores — and you finish what you start.
- There are specific, often expensive audiobooks you want, rather than a general appetite for anything.
- You want to own some of what you get, which the credit system allows and Kindle Unlimited never does.
Pick Kindle Unlimited if
- You read a lot, quickly, and mostly within genres where the catalog is deep — independently published romance, thriller, fantasy, science fiction and cozy mystery are the strong areas.
- You are happy being led by what is available rather than hunting specific titles.
- Twenty borrowed books at once sounds like a shelf rather than a restriction.
The narration overlap
One genuine point of contact: some Kindle Unlimited titles include narration, marked with a headset icon on the book page. This is not an Audible membership and it is not a broad audiobook catalog, but it does mean a Kindle Unlimited subscriber gets some listening. If that is the deciding factor for you, read audiobooks on Kindle Unlimited before choosing — it is the single most misunderstood thing about either product.
What each one gives you, in the company's own words
Audible sells two plans and describes them differently on its own page, which we re-read on 3 September 2026 and found unchanged. Audible Standard, at $8.99, is described as “1 audiobook a month from our entire collection”, which you can listen to “for as long as you're a member”. Audible Premium Plus, at $14.95, is described as “1 credit a month to buy any title”, which is “yours to keep, even if you cancel”, on top of “thousands of included titles in the all-you-can-listen catalogue”. Which of those two you want is a separate decision from this page and is worked through on Audible Standard versus Premium Plus.
Kindle Unlimited has one plan and no tiers. Amazon's own help page describes borrowing up to twenty titles at a time with no due dates, reading on any device through the free Kindle app, and sharing with Amazon Family members. What it does not do is give you anything permanently — every borrow is a loan. How Kindle Unlimited works sets out the borrow cycle and the terms in full.
What the trials actually settle
Both programs run a free trial and both convert automatically, which makes them the cheapest possible experiment and the easiest possible accidental subscription. Audible's own wording is a 30 days free trial for new members, and that “when your trial is over, you'll be automatically charged a monthly subscription fee”. Amazon states that eligible customers can start a Kindle Unlimited trial and are “automatically converted to a monthly paid subscription plan” at the end of it.
Take them one at a time. Two overlapping trials produce two renewals in the same week and no clean answer about which one you actually opened, which is the opposite of what you started them for. Run one for its full window against real books off your own list, then decide, then start the other if you still want to. Details and the dated terms are on the Audible free trial page and the Kindle Unlimited free trial page.
What happens when you stop paying
This is where the two products stop resembling each other, and it is the part worth understanding before you pick rather than after.
- Kindle Unlimited: everything goes back. Borrowed titles return, the catalog closes, and nothing survives the cancellation. Highlights and notes on a returned book are the usual casualty people did not expect — what happens after you cancel Kindle Unlimited covers it.
- Audible: split. The included catalog closes exactly like Kindle Unlimited, but Audible states that “all titles purchased with a credit are yours to keep forever”. So a year of Premium Plus can leave you with a shelf of audiobooks, and a year of catalog-only listening leaves you with nothing — what you keep when you cancel Audible draws the line.
If “what do I have at the end of a year of paying?” is a question that matters to you, that difference decides this comparison on its own, and it decides it in one direction.
Can you have both?
Yes, and they bill separately. Whether you should is a volume question, not a preference question. Two subscriptions is two monthly fees that both need clearing, and the honest test is whether you already have both an established listening habit and an established reading habit — not whether you like the idea of having both.
The realistic case for holding both is a household where one person listens and another reads, or a single reader with a long commute and real evening reading time. The unrealistic case is intending to develop two habits at once because both trials were free in the same month. If you are in the second group, pick the one your calendar already supports — reading versus listening is the time audit that answers it.
Five checks before you pay for either
- Write down five books you actually want. Not genres. Titles. This is the whole test and almost nobody does it.
- Check those five against the catalog. Turn on the Kindle Unlimited filter in the Kindle Store, or check the Audible listing for whether the title is included or needs a credit. The method is on how to check the Kindle Unlimited catalog and included titles versus credit titles.
- Check your library first. If four of the five are available free through Libby with a tolerable wait, you have your answer and it costs nothing.
- Count the hours, honestly. Listening needs hands-busy time; reading needs sit-down time. Whichever you have more of is the format to pay for.
- Set the cancellation reminder when you sign up. Not later. Both trials convert automatically, and “I meant to cancel” is the most expensive sentence in this category.
Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this
We get a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial through this link. It costs you nothing extra, it does not change what we conclude on this page, and the full disclosure is here.
If listening is what you want
The Audible trial is the cheapest way to find out whether you finish what you start. Terms are on our Audible free trial page.
New customers only. 30 days free, then it renews automatically at the monthly rate shown at signup unless you cancel first. Terms verified 17 September 2026.
#ad · The button goes straight to Audible's own free-trial signup page. The offer you see there is whatever Audible is running at the moment you click, which is why we send you to look rather than printing a number that could be out of date. What we checked, and when, is on how we research.
Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this
We get a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial through this link. It costs you nothing extra, it does not change what we conclude on this page, and the full disclosure is here.
If reading is what you want
Check five titles from your list against the catalog first — the method is on what Kindle Unlimited includes.
Free trial for eligible customers. Amazon shows the length and the price on the signup page, and the trial converts to a paid month automatically unless you cancel. Terms verified 14 September 2026.
#ad · The button goes straight to Amazon's Kindle Unlimited signup page. The offer you see there is whatever Amazon is running at the moment you click, which is why we send you to look rather than printing a number that could be out of date. What we checked, and when, is on how we research.
Common questions
Is Kindle Unlimited the same as Audible?
Does Kindle Unlimited include Audible?
Which is better value, Audible or Kindle Unlimited?
Can I subscribe to both?
Which has the bigger catalog?
Is Kindle Unlimited cheaper than Audible?
Do both come with a free trial?
Does Amazon Prime include either of them?
If I cancel, what happens to my books?
Which should I try first if I want to try both?
Sources
Everything on this page that states a program term was checked against these pages on the review date above.
Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this
Ready to start a free trial?
New customers only. 30 days free, then it renews automatically at the monthly rate shown at signup unless you cancel first. Terms verified 17 September 2026.
Free trial for eligible customers. Amazon shows the length and the price on the signup page, and the trial converts to a paid month automatically unless you cancel. Terms verified 14 September 2026.
#ad · The link goes straight to Audible's own free-trial signup page and Amazon's Kindle Unlimited signup page, and we are paid a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial there. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we conclude on this page. Full disclosure.
Back to everything on Compare.