How does Kindle Unlimited work?
You borrow rather than buy, up to twenty titles at a time, with no due dates. Return something to make room for something else.
Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this
Free trial for eligible customers. Amazon shows the length and the price on the signup page, and the trial converts to a paid month automatically unless you cancel. Terms verified 14 September 2026.
#ad · The link goes straight to Amazon's Kindle Unlimited signup page, and we are paid a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial there. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we conclude on this page. Full disclosure.

Kindle Unlimited is a borrowing subscription. While you are a member you can hold up to 20 titles at a time, there are no due dates, and when you want something new you return one of the twenty to make room. Nothing you borrow becomes yours, and access ends when the membership does.
Kindle Unlimited: what we could verify
Verified 14 September 2026
| Cost per month | Not published in a page we can read — see below |
|---|---|
| Free trial | A trial exists for eligible customers; the length is not stated on the page we checked |
| Who can take it | Amazon's help page says a free trial is available to eligible customers, and that you need an Amazon account with a current, valid payment method to use the subscription. Amazon does not publish the full eligibility rule in the pages we can read, so check what your own account is offered at signup. |
Checked against Amazon's help page, Understanding the Kindle Unlimited Subscription and Benefits on 14 September 2026. How we check these.
What we could not confirm
- The monthly price. Amazon renders it in JavaScript on the signup page, and the Kindle Unlimited Terms of Use did not state a figure in the content we could retrieve. We are not going to print a number we could not read on an Amazon page, so this site shows the price as something to check at signup.
- The length of the free trial. Amazon's help page confirms a trial exists for eligible customers but does not state how long it runs, and the length has historically varied by account and by promotion.
- The size of the catalog. Amazon does not publish a figure we could confirm, and it states that the catalog changes at any time.
What Amazon says, in its own words
- “If eligible, you can sign up for a free trial of Kindle Unlimited. At the end of your free trial, you're automatically converted to a monthly paid subscription plan.”
- “To use Kindle Unlimited, you must have an Amazon account with a current, valid payment method.”
- “Borrow up to 20 titles at a time from a wide selection of genres, all with no due dates. Magazine issues count toward this 20-title limit.”
- “Starting April 22, 2026, each magazine issue you borrow through Kindle Unlimited counts toward your 20-title borrow limit. We also no longer automatically deliver new issues. Previously, you could borrow up to 50 magazine issues.”
- “To find Kindle Unlimited audiobooks, look for the "with Narration" (headset) icon on the Kindle book pages, or browse the Kindle Unlimited store and filter by audiobooks.”
- “Please note that titles in the Kindle Unlimited catalog can change at any time.”
- “You can access Kindle Unlimited on any Kindle device, smartphone, computer, or tablet through the free Kindle app.”
The terms, in plain English
“What are the actual terms?” is the question underneath most of the traffic to this page, so here is the whole thing in one list. Everything below is Amazon's own statement on its own help page, not our summary of somebody else's summary.
| Term | What Amazon states |
|---|---|
| What you need | “An Amazon account with a current, valid payment method” |
| Borrow limit | Up to 20 titles at a time, no due dates. Magazine issues count toward the same 20 |
| Ownership | Borrowing only. Nothing you borrow becomes yours |
| Catalog stability | “Titles in the Kindle Unlimited catalog can change at any time” |
| Trial and renewal | A trial for eligible customers, then “automatically converted to a monthly paid subscription plan” |
| Devices | “Any Kindle device, smartphone, computer, or tablet through the free Kindle app” |
| Monthly price | Not stated on a page we could read. Amazon renders it in JavaScript at signup |
| Trial length | Not stated on a page we could read, and it has historically varied by account and promotion |
The last two rows are the point of this table as much as the first six. Amazon does not publish the price or the trial length anywhere we can retrieve, so we do not print them — and any site that prints them confidently without a date is guessing on your behalf. The figure shown against your own account at signup is the one that binds.
What Kindle Unlimited is not
Three separate products get mistaken for it, and each mistake costs somebody money.
- It is not Prime Reading. Prime Reading comes with Amazon Prime and is a much smaller rotating selection. If you already have Prime, check that first — Kindle Unlimited versus Prime Reading sets out the difference.
- It is not included with Prime. Separate subscription, separate fee, no overlap. What Prime does include is on what Prime actually includes.
- It is not Audible. Some Kindle Unlimited titles include narration, marked with a headset icon, but that is a property of the ebook rather than an audiobook membership. The head-to-head is on Audible versus Kindle Unlimited.
The borrow cycle, start to finish
The mechanism is genuinely simple, which is worth stating because the number of explainers about it suggests otherwise.
- Find a title with the Kindle Unlimited badge. The catalog filter in the Kindle Store is the reliable way to do this; browsing Amazon generally is not, because most books on Amazon are not included.
- Borrow it. It is delivered to your device or app like any other Kindle book, and it counts as one of your twenty.
- Read it, whenever. There is no due date and no expiry. It stays until you do something about it.
- Return it when you want the slot back. Returning is the only way to free capacity, and it is a deliberate action — how to return Kindle Unlimited books has the steps.
- Repeat, unlimited times. There is no monthly cap on borrows that we could find stated anywhere — only the cap on how many you hold at once.
The borrow limit in practice
Twenty sounds generous and mostly is, but it behaves differently from a library loan because nothing expires. Without due dates, the limit fills up with things you meant to read and did not, and eventually every new borrow requires a small decision about what to give up. Readers who use it well treat the twenty as an active shelf rather than an archive.
The magazine rule changed in 2026 and is worth knowing if you borrow them: since 22 April 2026 each magazine issue counts toward the same twenty-title limit, issues are no longer delivered automatically, and Amazon said that from 30 July 2026 — a date now behind us — accounts holding more than twenty borrowed titles would have the excess returned automatically. If you built a magazine habit under the old rules, that is the change that affected you, and both parts of it are already in force rather than coming.
Where you can read
Anywhere the Kindle app runs: phone, tablet, computer or a Kindle device. You do not need to own a Kindle e-reader to subscribe, which is a persistent misconception. The catalog is the same wherever you read it.
Sharing and gifting
Amazon states that members can share Kindle Unlimited content with Amazon Family members, and that the subscription can be given as a gift in 6, 12 and 24-month lengths. If you are buying for someone else, the gift route is the one that does not attach your payment method to their auto-renewal. For yourself, the ordinary route is to try Kindle Unlimited free first — the trial is offered to eligible customers and converts to a paid month automatically, so cancel inside the window if it is not for you.
When we last checked, and what happened
We attempted a fresh read of Amazon's Kindle Unlimited help page on 3 September 2026 and it answered with HTTP 503, as Amazon's help center usually did for an unauthenticated request, so the stamp was left where it was rather than refreshed on the strength of a page we could not open. On 14 September 2026 the same page answered with its real document: every quotation on this page was found on it word for word, and the verification stamp moved to that date. The monthly price and the trial length were still absent from it, which is why both remain unstated here. If a term below has changed since then, the signup screen is where you will see it first.
Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this
We get a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial through this link. It costs you nothing extra, it does not change what we conclude on this page, and the full disclosure is here.
Try Kindle Unlimited free and read the terms
Price and trial terms are shown against your own account at signup. What we could verify on Amazon's help pages is in the table above, with the date we checked it.
Free trial for eligible customers. Amazon shows the length and the price on the signup page, and the trial converts to a paid month automatically unless you cancel. Terms verified 14 September 2026.
#ad · The button goes straight to Amazon's Kindle Unlimited signup page. The offer you see there is whatever Amazon is running at the moment you click, which is why we send you to look rather than printing a number that could be out of date. What we checked, and when, is on how we research.
Common questions
How many books can you have on Kindle Unlimited at once?
Do Kindle Unlimited books have due dates?
What devices can I read Kindle Unlimited on?
Can I share Kindle Unlimited with my family?
Can I give Kindle Unlimited as a gift?
What are the Kindle Unlimited terms?
Does Kindle Unlimited renew automatically?
Do I keep anything if I cancel Kindle Unlimited?
Is Kindle Unlimited included with Amazon Prime?
Does the 20-title limit reset each month?
Do I need a Kindle device?
Sources
Everything on this page that states a program term was checked against these pages on the review date above.
Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this
Ready to try Kindle Unlimited free?
Free trial for eligible customers. Amazon shows the length and the price on the signup page, and the trial converts to a paid month automatically unless you cancel. Terms verified 14 September 2026.
#ad · The link goes straight to Amazon's Kindle Unlimited signup page, and we are paid a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial there. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we conclude on this page. Full disclosure.
Back to everything on Kindle Unlimited.