Skip to content

Audible Standard vs Premium Plus

The cheaper plan and the credit plan solve different problems. Picking wrongly costs you either money or the thing you wanted the subscription for.

By Stephen V.Last reviewed

Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this

Start your free Audible trial

New customers only. 30 days free, then it renews automatically at the monthly rate shown at signup unless you cancel first. Terms verified 17 September 2026.

#ad · The link goes straight to Audible's own free-trial signup page, and we are paid a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial there. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we conclude on this page. Full disclosure.

Two stacks of books standing side by side on a desk

Audible sells two plans. Audible Standard is listed at $8.99 and Audible Premium Plus at $14.95. Both give you the app, the library, and a 30 days trial for new members. The money difference buys the credit system.

Audible Premium Plus: what we could verify

Verified 17 September 2026

Audible Premium Plus terms as verified against Audible's own membership pricing block on 17 September 2026
Cost per month$14.95
Free trial30 days
Who can take itNew members only. Audible's own wording is that each plan offers a 30-day free trial to new members, and that eligible new members can sign up for a free trial anytime. Audible's help center adds one published window, read 24 August 2026: you will not be eligible for a free 30-day trial if you have already taken advantage of it within the last 12 months. That states an exclusion rather than a promise, so treat twelve months as the earliest point worth checking again.
Current promotionPrime members only, re-read on Audible's own site on 27 September 2026: Audible Standard at $0.99 a month for 4 months plus a $20 Audible credit, auto-renewing at $8.99 a month afterwards, offer ends October 7, 2026 at 11:59PM PT. The $20 credit was added to Audible's own banner between our 17 September and 27 September reads; the rate, the renewal rate and the end date are unchanged. This is a discounted paid membership from day one, not a longer free trial, and Audible's page does not say whether taking it uses up new-member trial eligibility. The standard 30-day free trial was still offered beside it.

Checked against Audible's own membership pricing block on 17 September 2026. How we check these.

What we could not confirm

  • Whether either annual plan carries the 30-day free trial. The two monthly rows on Audible's Plans & Pricing page say 'Try for $0.00' and name the trial; the two annual rows say only 'Auto-renews at ... Cancel anytime.' Audible does not state either way, so neither do we.
  • The size of the listening catalog. Catalog counts are marketing figures that change constantly and we could not confirm one against a dated source.

First: is it called Audible Plus or Audible Standard?

This is the reason a lot of people arrive here confused, so it is worth settling before anything else. On 3 September 2026 we re-read Audible's own membership page. It lists two plans, named Audible Standard and Audible Premium Plus. The name “Audible Plus” does not appear on it.

A great deal of writing about Audible still frames the choice as “Audible Plus versus Audible Premium Plus”, and much of it attaches a price to the first name that Audible's page does not state. If that is the comparison you came looking for, you are in the right place and the lower-priced, catalog-focused plan is the thing being described — Audible's own page just calls it Audible Standard. Everything below uses Audible's current names, because those are the ones on the screen when you sign up.

The two plans, side by side

Audible Standard and Audible Premium Plus compared on price, monthly entitlement, ownership and trial
 Audible StandardAudible Premium Plus
Monthly price$8.99$14.95
What you get each month“1 audiobook a month from our entire collection”“1 credit a month to buy any title”
How long you keep it“For as long as you're a member” “Yours to keep, even if you cancel”
Included catalogYes — the app, the library and catalog listeningYes, plus “thousands of included titles in the all-you-can-listen catalogue”
Member salesNot stated for this plan on the page we read“Premium member-only sales and exclusive discounts”
Free trial30 days, new members30 days, new members

Quoted phrases are Audible's own wording from its membership page, read 11 and 13 August 2026 and re-read unchanged on 3 September 2026. Where a row says the page did not state something for a plan, that is what it means — not that the feature is absent.

The arithmetic on the gap

The gap between the plans is $5.96 a month. That is the entire question, and it has a clean test: does the credit you spend each month buy a book worth more than the gap?

Almost any full-price audiobook clears $5.96 a month comfortably, which makes Premium Plus look like an obvious win — and it is, on the condition that you spend the credit. The condition is where it falls apart. A credit spent every month on a title you would otherwise have bought is excellent value. A credit that sits in the account is $5.96 a month buying nothing, and twelve of those is a wasted year.

  • You spend it most months: Premium Plus, without much thinking required.
  • You spend it occasionally: the honest comparison is against buying that occasional audiobook outright. If you use two credits a year, you are paying the gap twelve times for two books.
  • You never spend it: Standard, and the catalog is what you were actually paying for all along.

How to tell which one you are

There are two genuinely different ways to use an audiobook subscription, and each plan is built for one of them.

You are a planner

You keep a list. There are specific books you intend to listen to, often new, often long, and you would buy them individually if you had to. For you the credit is the point: it converts a fixed monthly fee into a full-price audiobook, and the more expensive the book, the better that trade gets. Premium Plus is your plan, and the arithmetic on whether Audible is worth it will come out clearly in favor.

You are a browser

You want something on while you drive and you are not fussy about which something. You are much more likely to start what is in front of you than to hunt down a specific title. For you a credit is an obligation you will keep forgetting to use, and the cheaper plan serves you better.

The mistake to avoid

Buying Premium Plus and then treating the credit as a saving to be hoarded. A credit only realizes its value at the moment you spend it on something expensive; sitting on credits converts a subscription into a savings account with no interest. If you find yourself with unspent credits two months running, you are on the wrong plan. How Audible credits actually work goes through this in more detail.

What we could not tell you

Two things, and we would rather name them than paper over them.

How long an unused credit lasts. Corrected 17 September 2026. This paragraph previously said the expiry window appeared on no Audible page we could read. It does now: Audible's Plans & Pricing page answered a plain request that day with the sentence “credits do expire 12 months after they are issued or when membership is cancelled”. Twelve months from issue, and gone on cancellation — whether Audible credits expire has the full wording and what it means in practice.

Audible's detailed plan-comparison page. It sits behind an Amazon sign-in and returns a redirect rather than a document to us. Everything in the table above therefore comes from Audible's public membership block rather than from the full feature matrix. The signup screen shows what applies to your own account, including any promotional rate running today — you can start a free Audible trial on whichever plan you have landed on and read it there before the first charge.

Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this

We get a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial through this link. It costs you nothing extra, it does not change what we conclude on this page, and the full disclosure is here.

Start your free trial on the plan you picked

The plan detail is presented against your own account at signup, including any promotional rate running today.

Start your free Audible trial

New customers only. 30 days free, then it renews automatically at the monthly rate shown at signup unless you cancel first. Terms verified 17 September 2026.

#ad · The button goes straight to Audible's own free-trial signup page. The offer you see there is whatever Audible is running at the moment you click, which is why we send you to look rather than printing a number that could be out of date. What we checked, and when, is on how we research.

Common questions

What is the difference between Audible Standard and Premium Plus?
Price and credits. Audible lists Standard at $8.99 a month and Premium Plus at $14.95 a month, with the credit system attached to the Premium Plus tier. Both were verified against Audible's own page on 11 August 2026 and re-read unchanged on 3 September 2026.
Is Audible Plus the same as Audible Standard?
Audible's own membership page today lists two plans, Audible Standard and Audible Premium Plus. It does not use the name 'Audible Plus' anywhere we could read on 3 September 2026. Write-ups still comparing 'Audible Plus vs Premium Plus' are almost always describing the lower-priced, catalog-focused plan that Audible's own page now calls Audible Standard — and several of them quote a price that page no longer states.
Is Audible Premium Plus worth the extra?
It is worth it when you reliably spend the credit each month on an audiobook that costs more than the price gap between the plans. That gap is $5.96 a month at the prices Audible currently publishes, so a credit spent on any full-price audiobook clears it comfortably — and a credit not spent does not clear it at all.
What does each plan actually include?
Audible describes Standard as '1 audiobook a month from our entire collection', which you can listen to 'for as long as you're a member'. It describes Premium Plus as '1 credit a month to buy any title', which is 'yours to keep, even if you cancel', plus 'thousands of included titles in the all-you-can-listen catalogue' and 'Premium member-only sales and exclusive discounts'.
Can I downgrade from Premium Plus to Standard?
Plan changes are handled in your Audible account settings. The options available are shown against your own account, so check there.
Does the free trial come on both plans?
Audible's own wording is that 'each plan offers a 30-day free trial to new members', so the trial is not tied to one tier. Start it on the plan you actually think you want, because the trial is a test of your own behaviour rather than of the app.
What happens to my credits if I downgrade or cancel?
Audible states that credits 'rollover month to month until they expire or membership is cancelled', and that titles already bought with a credit are yours to keep forever. Its Plans & Pricing page, read on 17 September 2026, adds the window: credits expire 12 months after they are issued. Spend them rather than banking them.

Sources

Everything on this page that states a program term was checked against these pages on the review date above.

Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this

Ready to start a free Audible trial?

Start your free Audible trial

New customers only. 30 days free, then it renews automatically at the monthly rate shown at signup unless you cancel first. Terms verified 17 September 2026.

#ad · The link goes straight to Audible's own free-trial signup page, and we are paid a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial there. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we conclude on this page. Full disclosure.

Back to everything on Audible.