Skip to content

Do Audible credits expire?

Yes. Audible publishes a twelve-month window on its Plans & Pricing page, and a second rule that catches far more people: cancelling takes the unspent ones with it.

By Stephen V.Last reviewed

Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this

Start your free Audible trial

New customers only. 30 days free, then it renews automatically at the monthly rate shown at signup unless you cancel first. Terms verified 17 September 2026.

#ad · The link goes straight to Audible's own free-trial signup page, and we are paid a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial there. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we conclude on this page. Full disclosure.

An hourglass standing on a wooden table

The short answer is yes, and until 17 September 2026 this site could not tell you the window. Audible publishes it on its Plans & Pricing page, in the answer to a question nobody would think to open — “What if I forget to select an audiobook one month?” Here is the sentence, verbatim:

“Premium members don't need to choose a book each month, but credits do expire 12 months after they are issued or when membership is cancelled.”

Audible Premium Plus terms verified 17 September 2026 against Audible's own membership pricing block.

What “twelve months from issue” actually means

It is not one clock on your balance. Credits arrive monthly, and each one starts its own twelve-month countdown on the day it lands. A member who has banked five credits over the past five months is holding five different expiry dates, the oldest of which is the one that matters.

In practice that makes the arithmetic simpler than it sounds. If you spend a credit in the month it arrives, expiry is a rule that will never touch you. If you are banking credits for something — a long series, a release you are waiting for, an expensive box set — then the oldest credit in the pile is on a deadline and you should know roughly when it falls.

The rule that actually costs people money

It is not the twelve months. It is the second half of the sentence: “or when membership is cancelled”.

The typical loss looks like this. Somebody joins, listens happily for a few months, gets busy, stops listening, notices the charge, and cancels. The credits they paid for during the quiet months — which is exactly when credits accumulate — go with the membership. They were the most expensive part of what was bought, they were never used, and cancelling is the moment they vanish.

The fix takes ten minutes and it is the single most useful thing on this page: spend every credit you are holding before you press cancel. Audiobooks bought with a credit stay in your library permanently — Audible's own wording is that “all titles purchased with a credit are yours to keep forever” — so a credit spent on the way out converts a use-it-or-lose-it token into a permanent title. There is more on that at what you keep after cancelling and in the step-by-step at how to cancel Audible.

Rolling over is not the same as lasting

Audible's membership FAQ says credits “rollover month to month until they expire or membership is cancelled”, and a lot of readers take the first half of that as a promise and skip the second. Roll-over means an unspent credit is still there next month. It does not mean it is there indefinitely, and the twelve-month sentence is what settles that.

The practical reading: a credit is not a savings account. It is closer to a voucher with a date on it. Which is also why the standing advice on how Audible credits work is to spend rather than bank — the value of a credit is entirely determined by what you buy with it, and an expired one is worth nothing at all.

The Standard plan works differently, and worse

If you are on Audible Standard rather than Premium Plus, you are not holding credits at all. Audible's wording is that a Standard member “can select 1 audiobook a month from our entire collection”, and that “your ability to select 1 monthly audiobook doesn't roll over to the next month” . There is no balance, no roll-over and no twelve-month window: a month you do not use is a month you do not get back.

It also matters on cancellation, because Standard selections are not purchases. Audible says you lose access to Plus Catalog titles and to “any audiobook selections you have made as an Audible Standard member”, which then show a lock icon in your library until you rejoin. The difference between the two plans, in exactly these terms, is on Standard versus Premium Plus.

What this means if you are considering a prepaid year

Audible's annual plans buy twelve or twenty-four credits in one payment, and the twelve-month expiry applies to them the same way it applies to any other credit. That is the whole risk in the annual decision, and it is why the annual membership page leads with usage rather than with the discount. A bulk credit purchase is only a saving if the credits get spent.

How to check your own account

Your credit balance and its status live on your Audible account page, and that is the authoritative version — it reflects your plan, your marketplace and your own history, none of which an article can know. If you are holding a balance and you are not sure how old the oldest credit is, look before you plan around it.

And if you are still weighing whether the credit system suits you at all, is Audible worth it does the arithmetic against your own habits and is perfectly willing to conclude that it is not.

Audible Premium Plus: what we could verify

Verified 17 September 2026

Audible Premium Plus terms as verified against Audible's own membership pricing block on 17 September 2026
Cost per month$14.95
Free trial30 days
Who can take itNew members only. Audible's own wording is that each plan offers a 30-day free trial to new members, and that eligible new members can sign up for a free trial anytime. Audible's help center adds one published window, read 24 August 2026: you will not be eligible for a free 30-day trial if you have already taken advantage of it within the last 12 months. That states an exclusion rather than a promise, so treat twelve months as the earliest point worth checking again.
Current promotionPrime members only, re-read on Audible's own site on 27 September 2026: Audible Standard at $0.99 a month for 4 months plus a $20 Audible credit, auto-renewing at $8.99 a month afterwards, offer ends October 7, 2026 at 11:59PM PT. The $20 credit was added to Audible's own banner between our 17 September and 27 September reads; the rate, the renewal rate and the end date are unchanged. This is a discounted paid membership from day one, not a longer free trial, and Audible's page does not say whether taking it uses up new-member trial eligibility. The standard 30-day free trial was still offered beside it.

Checked against Audible's own membership pricing block on 17 September 2026. How we check these.

What we could not confirm

  • Whether either annual plan carries the 30-day free trial. The two monthly rows on Audible's Plans & Pricing page say 'Try for $0.00' and name the trial; the two annual rows say only 'Auto-renews at ... Cancel anytime.' Audible does not state either way, so neither do we.
  • The size of the listening catalog. Catalog counts are marketing figures that change constantly and we could not confirm one against a dated source.

Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this

We get a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial through this link. It costs you nothing extra, it does not change what we conclude on this page, and the full disclosure is here.

Trying the credit system first

A trial is the cheapest way to find out whether you are the kind of listener who spends a credit every month or the kind who banks them and forgets. Terms, and the date we checked them, are on our Audible free trial page.

Start your free Audible trial

New customers only. 30 days free, then it renews automatically at the monthly rate shown at signup unless you cancel first. Terms verified 17 September 2026.

#ad · The button goes straight to Audible's own free-trial signup page. The offer you see there is whatever Audible is running at the moment you click, which is why we send you to look rather than printing a number that could be out of date. What we checked, and when, is on how we research.

Common questions

Do Audible credits expire?
Yes. Audible's Plans & Pricing page states that credits expire 12 months after they are issued, or when the membership is cancelled, whichever comes first.
How long do Audible credits last?
Twelve months from the date each credit is issued, in Audible's own wording. Because credits are issued monthly, a balance is a set of individual clocks rather than one.
What happens to my credits if I cancel Audible?
Audible puts cancellation in the same sentence as expiry: credits expire 12 months after they are issued 'or when membership is cancelled'. Spend the balance before you cancel, not after.
Do credits roll over month to month?
Yes, on the Premium plan. Audible's wording is that credits 'rollover month to month until they expire or membership is cancelled'. Rolling over and lasting forever are different things.
Do Standard-plan selections roll over?
No. Audible states that on the Standard plan, 'your ability to select 1 monthly audiobook doesn't roll over to the next month'. Miss a month on Standard and the selection is simply gone.
Where do I see my own credit expiry dates?
Your Audible account's credit page shows your balance and its status. That is account-specific and it is the version that governs, which is why this page tells you where to look rather than promising what you will see.
Do I keep books I already bought with a credit?
Yes. Audible states that all titles purchased with a credit are yours to keep forever, and that they stay in your library after cancellation. It is the unspent credits that go, not the spent ones.
Does pausing a membership stop the expiry clock?
Audible does not state that it does on any page we can read. Treat a pause as a billing arrangement rather than a freeze on credit expiry, and spend down a balance before you pause.

Sources

Everything on this page that states a program term was checked against these pages on the review date above.

Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this

Ready to start a free Audible trial?

Start your free Audible trial

New customers only. 30 days free, then it renews automatically at the monthly rate shown at signup unless you cancel first. Terms verified 17 September 2026.

#ad · The link goes straight to Audible's own free-trial signup page, and we are paid a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial there. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we conclude on this page. Full disclosure.

Back to everything on Audible.