Audible's annual membership, and when paying a year up front pays off
Audible's Plans & Pricing page hides two prepaid yearly plans behind a toggle most people never click. They are cheaper per credit than paying monthly — on one condition that catches people out.
Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this
New customers only. 30 days free, then it renews automatically at the monthly rate shown at signup unless you cancel first. Terms verified 17 September 2026.
#ad · The link goes straight to Audible's own free-trial signup page, and we are paid a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial there. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we conclude on this page. Full disclosure.

Most people who look up Audible pricing see two numbers — $8.99 and $14.95 a month — and stop there. Audible's Plans & Pricing page has a small Monthly / Annual toggle above those cards, and behind it sit two prepaid yearly plans that are noticeably cheaper per credit. They are not advertised anywhere else on the site, they do not appear in the signup flow by default, and they are the single most useful thing on that page for anyone who already knows they are staying.
Audible Premium Plus terms verified 17 September 2026 against Audible's own membership pricing block.
The four plans, side by side
Every figure in this table came off Audible's own Plans & Pricing page on 17 September 2026. The per-credit and per-month columns are arithmetic we did on those figures, not claims by Audible.
| Plan | Billed | Credits a year | Cost per credit | Works out at |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Premium 12 credits/yr | $149.50 a year | 12 | $12.46 | $12.46 a month |
| Premium 24 credits/yr | $229.50 a year | 24 | $9.56 | $19.13 a month |
| Premium Plus, billed monthly | $14.95 a month | 12 | $14.95 | $179.40 a year |
Audible's wording on both annual rows is “Auto-renews at [the yearly price]. Cancel anytime.” Neither row mentions a free trial.
What the numbers actually say
Twelve months of monthly Premium Plus costs $179.40. The 12-credit annual plan buys you the same twelve credits for $149.50, which is a saving of $29.90 over the year. That is real but modest — roughly two months free, not half price.
The 24-credit plan is the interesting one. It is not double the price for double the credits; it is about half as much again, which drops the cost per credit to $9.56. Against a new-release audiobook that retails well above that, it is the best per-title price Audible publishes anywhere. Against a reader who finishes one book a month, it is a bill for twelve audiobooks nobody will ever hear.
Who the annual plans are actually for
There is a narrow profile here and it is worth being honest about how narrow. The annual plans suit someone who has already been a member for a year or more, knows from experience that they spend a credit most months, and has a to-listen list long enough that running out of things to buy is not a risk. For that person the 24-credit plan is straightforwardly the cheapest way Audible sells audiobooks.
They are wrong for everyone else, and particularly wrong for two groups. The first is anyone still deciding whether they like audiobooks at all — that question costs nothing to answer on a trial and should never be answered with a year of money up front. The second is the reader whose consumption is seasonal: a long commute that ends, a summer of driving, a running habit that lapses in November. Credits do not care that your circumstances changed.
Do the arithmetic
How many books a month does the 24-credit annual plan have to save you?
Change any number to match your own habits. Everything below is computed from what you enter — there is no hidden assumption, and the sum is simple enough to check on the back of an envelope.
$19.13 ÷ $15.00 = 1.3 audiobooks a month — that is the point where the subscription stops costing you money and starts saving it.
At 1 a month you would spend $180.00 a year buying them outright, against $229.56 a year subscribing. Buying them is $49.56 cheaper over a year.
Both of those figures are beaten by zero, which is what your public library charges. If the titles you want are available through your library's app, that is the cheapest answer available and no subscription competes with it on price.
The calculator above is prefilled with the annual plan expressed as a monthly figure, because that is the only way to compare it fairly with buying audiobooks one at a time. Change the per-book price to what the audiobooks you actually want cost, and the number of books to what you genuinely finish rather than what you intend to.
What Audible does not tell you, and we will not either
Three things about the annual plans are not published on any Audible page we can read, so this page does not state them.
- Whether the free trial applies. The monthly rows carry “Try for $0.00” and name the 30 days trial. The annual rows do not. That is a silence, not a no, and we are not going to convert one into the other.
- Whether an annual plan is refundable part-way through. Audible says “Cancel anytime” on the annual rows, which tells you the membership can end and tells you nothing about the money.
- How the credits are delivered. Twenty-four credits a year could mean two a month or a lump; the page states the allowance, not the schedule. Your own credits page shows what your account actually holds.
If any of the three decides it for you, the reliable move is the same one this site recommends everywhere: start on a monthly plan where the terms are fully published, live with it for a couple of months, then switch if the arithmetic holds up. Audible's page says switching is a customer-care conversation if you signed up on the website, and an app settings screen if you signed up in the app.
The comparison that comes first
Before any of this: a prepaid year is a commitment, and the cheapest audiobook is still the one your library lends you for nothing. Audible versus Libby runs that comparison properly, and the cheapest ways to listen ranks every route by what it actually costs, with the free ones at the top where they belong. We earn nothing from those and they are still the right first answer for a lot of people.
Audible Premium Plus: what we could verify
Verified 17 September 2026
| Cost per month | $14.95 |
|---|---|
| Free trial | 30 days |
| Who can take it | New members only. Audible's own wording is that each plan offers a 30-day free trial to new members, and that eligible new members can sign up for a free trial anytime. Audible's help center adds one published window, read 24 August 2026: you will not be eligible for a free 30-day trial if you have already taken advantage of it within the last 12 months. That states an exclusion rather than a promise, so treat twelve months as the earliest point worth checking again. |
| Current promotion | Prime members only, re-read on Audible's own site on 27 September 2026: Audible Standard at $0.99 a month for 4 months plus a $20 Audible credit, auto-renewing at $8.99 a month afterwards, offer ends October 7, 2026 at 11:59PM PT. The $20 credit was added to Audible's own banner between our 17 September and 27 September reads; the rate, the renewal rate and the end date are unchanged. This is a discounted paid membership from day one, not a longer free trial, and Audible's page does not say whether taking it uses up new-member trial eligibility. The standard 30-day free trial was still offered beside it. |
Checked against Audible's own membership pricing block on 17 September 2026. How we check these.
What we could not confirm
- Whether either annual plan carries the 30-day free trial. The two monthly rows on Audible's Plans & Pricing page say 'Try for $0.00' and name the trial; the two annual rows say only 'Auto-renews at ... Cancel anytime.' Audible does not state either way, so neither do we.
- The size of the listening catalog. Catalog counts are marketing figures that change constantly and we could not confirm one against a dated source.
Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this
We get a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial through this link. It costs you nothing extra, it does not change what we conclude on this page, and the full disclosure is here.
Start monthly, then decide about the year
The trial and the monthly plans are the part of Audible's pricing that is fully published, which makes them the safe place to find out whether you are an annual-plan person. What is on offer to your own account is shown at signup — terms and the date we checked them are on our Audible free trial page.
New customers only. 30 days free, then it renews automatically at the monthly rate shown at signup unless you cancel first. Terms verified 17 September 2026.
#ad · The button goes straight to Audible's own free-trial signup page. The offer you see there is whatever Audible is running at the moment you click, which is why we send you to look rather than printing a number that could be out of date. What we checked, and when, is on how we research.
Common questions
Does Audible have an annual membership?
How much is Audible per year?
Is the annual plan cheaper than monthly?
Does the annual plan come with the free trial?
What happens to my annual credits if I cancel mid-year?
Do all 24 credits arrive at once on the 24-credit plan?
Can I switch from monthly to annual?
Is the annual plan worth it if I only finish a book every other month?
Sources
Everything on this page that states a program term was checked against these pages on the review date above.
Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this
Ready to start a free Audible trial?
New customers only. 30 days free, then it renews automatically at the monthly rate shown at signup unless you cancel first. Terms verified 17 September 2026.
#ad · The link goes straight to Audible's own free-trial signup page, and we are paid a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial there. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we conclude on this page. Full disclosure.
Back to everything on Audible.