Skip to content

The free trial will not start, or says you are not eligible

Audible publishes the answer on one help page almost nobody finds, and one of the causes will charge you a full month at the regular price if you get it wrong.

By Stephen V.Last reviewed

Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this

Start your free Audible trial

New customers only. 30 days free, then it renews automatically at the monthly rate shown at signup unless you cancel first. Terms verified 17 September 2026.

Try Kindle Unlimited free

Free trial for eligible customers. Amazon shows the length and the price on the signup page, and the trial converts to a paid month automatically unless you cancel. Terms verified 14 September 2026.

#ad · The link goes straight to Audible's own free-trial signup page and Amazon's Kindle Unlimited signup page, and we are paid a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial there. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we conclude on this page. Full disclosure.

Several credit cards laid out on a wooden table

If the free trial will not start, the cause is almost always one of five things, and Audible publishes all five on a single help page that effectively nobody finds. Four of them you can check in about two minutes. The fifth — signing up inside the Android app — does not fail politely: Audible says it charges you the regular monthly price immediately instead of giving you the trial. Work through them in order before you enter a card again.

First, let the button tell you

Before diagnosing anything, sign in on the program's own site and look at what the signup control actually says. Audible's own help page for restarting a membership instructs you to “select Sign up or Try for $0.00 (if trial eligible)”. Those are two different buttons, and which one you are shown is Audible answering the eligibility question directly, before you type a card number. If it reads Sign up rather than Try for $0.00, you are being offered a paid membership, and the rest of this page explains why.

Do that check while signed in to the account you actually intend to use. Eligibility belongs to the account and its membership history, not to the person sitting at the keyboard, and a household with two Amazon logins generates this exact confusion on a regular basis.

Cause one: you have had the trial before

This is the answer for most people asking, and Audible states it in a single sentence on its sign up issues page: “You will not be eligible for a free 30-day trial if you have already taken advantage of it within the last 12 months.”

That is worth reading twice, because it is more specific than Audible's public marketing pages, which only say the trial is for new members. A twelve-month window is a rule with a date attached: if your last Audible membership ended eighteen months ago, the sentence above does not exclude you, and the signup page is where you find out. If it ended in March, it does.

If you have had a membership and you are past the window, the longer version of this question — including what returning accounts tend to be offered instead of the standard trial — is on whether you can get the Audible free trial twice. The Kindle Unlimited equivalent is on a second Kindle Unlimited trial, where Amazon publishes considerably less.

Cause two: you are signing up inside the Android app

This one deserves its own warning, because it does not present as an error. Audible's help page carries the note verbatim: “If you sign up through the Audible app for Android, you will not be able to take the free trial, but you will be charged regular monthly price immediately.”

Nothing about that flow announces that the trial has been skipped. You tap through a signup screen, the membership starts, and the first charge lands the same day at the full rate rather than in thirty days' time. If you are reading this because a charge appeared immediately after you signed up on an Android phone, that is very likely what happened.

Cause three: the card check has not gone through

A free trial still needs a payment method, and the check runs before the trial starts rather than at the end of it. Audible describes the mechanism plainly: “When you sign up for the 30-day free trial or a regular membership, our system sends an authorization request to your bank to confirm that your credit card is a valid payment method. Once the credit card is authorized, you will be enrolled in the free trial and will have your credit(s) in your account.”

Two useful things follow from that sentence. The first is that a small pending authorization on your statement is the system working, not a charge for the trial. The second is that if the bank does not authorize the card — a fraud hold, a prepaid card the bank will not let through, a mismatched billing address — the enrollment simply does not complete, and the failure can look like an eligibility problem when it is a payment one.

Audible's published fix is to update the card: while signed in, go to Manage credit cards, select Edit next to the card, correct the fields and save. If the underlying question is whether you can avoid putting a card in at all, that has its own answer on taking the trial without a credit card, and it is shorter than most people hope.

Cause four: the card on file has expired

Audible lists this separately, and it is the quietest of the five: “If you haven't been able to activate your Audible membership yet, it could be that your credit or debit card has expired.” A card that expired months ago sits in the account looking perfectly normal until something tries to authorize it.

This is the one to check if you have had an Amazon account for years, have not bought anything in a while, and cannot see any other reason the signup is failing. The expiry date is on the same Manage credit cards page as the fix above.

Cause five: Apple or Google is the one billing you

If you originally subscribed through an app store, the subscription belongs to that store rather than to Audible, and Audible says so: “If your membership is billed through Google Play or the Apple App Store you will need to contact Apple or Google for support.”

That matters twice over. It explains why Audible's own account pages may show nothing useful, and it is also why a cancellation attempted on the Audible site can appear to do nothing at all. The cancellation routes, per device, are on how to cancel Audible.

Kindle Unlimited: what Amazon actually publishes

The Kindle Unlimited side of this question has a thinner answer, and the honest thing is to say why. Amazon's help pages answer an unauthenticated request with a block rather than a document, and its signup page renders the offer in JavaScript behind a sign-in, so there is no public page stating the full eligibility rule for us to quote. That was true again when we checked on 24 August 2026.

Two things Amazon does state, verified against its own help page and carried in this site's terms config, are worth applying here. The first: “If eligible, you can sign up for a free trial of Kindle Unlimited. At the end of your free trial, you're automatically converted to a monthly paid subscription plan.” The word doing the work is eligible, and Amazon does not define it publicly. The second: “To use Kindle Unlimited, you must have an Amazon account with a current, valid payment method.” That makes the card checks above apply to Kindle Unlimited exactly as they apply to Audible.

So for Kindle Unlimited the practical order is: confirm the account, confirm the payment method is current, open the signup page in a browser while signed in, and read what it offers you. If it offers a paid month rather than a trial, that is the answer for your account, and no article can override it. What we could and could not verify about the terms themselves is set out on the Kindle Unlimited free trial page.

Kindle Unlimited: what we could verify

Verified 14 September 2026

Kindle Unlimited terms as verified against Amazon's help page, Understanding the Kindle Unlimited Subscription and Benefits on 14 September 2026
Cost per monthNot published in a page we can read — see below
Free trialA trial exists for eligible customers; the length is not stated on the page we checked
Who can take itAmazon's help page says a free trial is available to eligible customers, and that you need an Amazon account with a current, valid payment method to use the subscription. Amazon does not publish the full eligibility rule in the pages we can read, so check what your own account is offered at signup.

Checked against Amazon's help page, Understanding the Kindle Unlimited Subscription and Benefits on 14 September 2026. How we check these.

What we could not confirm

  • The monthly price. Amazon renders it in JavaScript on the signup page, and the Kindle Unlimited Terms of Use did not state a figure in the content we could retrieve. We are not going to print a number we could not read on an Amazon page, so this site shows the price as something to check at signup.
  • The length of the free trial. Amazon's help page confirms a trial exists for eligible customers but does not state how long it runs, and the length has historically varied by account and by promotion.
  • The size of the catalog. Amazon does not publish a figure we could confirm, and it states that the catalog changes at any time.

The thing we are not going to help with

A second account with a new email address is the workaround every forum thread arrives at, and we are not going to write the steps out. Beyond the fact that it is deliberately breaking a rule you agreed to, it mostly does not work: membership history follows the Amazon account and the payment details rather than the email address on it, so the usual outcome is a new account charged full price and a library split across two logins you now have to manage.

The same goes for the promo codes that turn up in search results promising a longer trial to accounts that are not eligible for a standard one. What we could and could not find on the programs' own signup pages is written up on promo codes and longer free trials, and the short version is that the offer attached to your account when you sign in is the offer, whatever a coupon site says.

If there is genuinely no trial available to you

At that point the question stops being about eligibility and starts being about value, which is the better question anyway. A trial is a way of testing a subscription cheaply; without one, you are simply deciding whether a paid month is worth it on its own merits.

That decision is arithmetic rather than opinion. Audible's membership runs at $14.95 a month for Premium Plus, or $8.99 a month on the Standard plan, against however many hours you would actually listen in a normal month. Whether Audible is worth it runs that calculation properly, and it comes out negative for a large number of people.

Before paying for either, it is worth exhausting the routes that cost nothing. Where free audiobooks actually come from covers public-library lending and public-domain recordings, and how to borrow from your library is the setup walkthrough. We earn nothing from either, which is exactly why they are named here rather than buried.

Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this

We get a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial through this link. It costs you nothing extra, it does not change what we conclude on this page, and the full disclosure is here.

If the button does say Try for $0.00

Then you are eligible, and the only remaining job is not forgetting the renewal date. The terms we verified, the date we checked them and what happens at day thirty are on the Audible free trial page.

Start your free Audible trial

New customers only. 30 days free, then it renews automatically at the monthly rate shown at signup unless you cancel first. Terms verified 17 September 2026.

#ad · The button goes straight to Audible's own free-trial signup page. The offer you see there is whatever Audible is running at the moment you click, which is why we send you to look rather than printing a number that could be out of date. What we checked, and when, is on how we research.

Common questions

Why does Audible say I am not eligible for the free trial?
Most often because you have had one before. Audible's help center states that you will not be eligible for a free 30-day trial if you have already taken advantage of it within the last 12 months. The other published causes are a card authorization that has not gone through, an expired card, and signing up inside the Audible app for Android.
Can I get the Audible free trial again after 12 months?
Audible's sign up issues page ties ineligibility to having taken a trial within the last 12 months, which implies the window reopens. We are not going to promise that it does, because Audible does not say so in those words and your own signup page is what decides. Sign in and look at whether the button reads Try for $0.00.
Why can I not get the free trial in the Audible app?
Audible states that if you sign up through the Audible app for Android, you will not be able to take the free trial, but you will be charged the regular monthly price immediately. That is the most expensive version of this problem, and it is avoided entirely by signing up in a browser.
Why is my card being declined when I start the trial?
A free trial still needs a valid payment method. Audible describes sending an authorization request to your bank to confirm the card is valid, and enrolling you in the trial once it is authorized. If the card has expired or the bank declines the check, nothing starts. Update the card on the Manage credit cards page and try again.
Why can I not get Kindle Unlimited?
Amazon does not publish the full eligibility rule on any page we can read. What its help page does state is that a free trial is available if you are eligible, and that you must have an Amazon account with a current, valid payment method to use Kindle Unlimited. Beyond that, the signup page is the only thing that will tell you what your own account qualifies for.
My membership is billed through Apple or Google. Who fixes it?
They do. Audible's help page states that if your membership is billed through Google Play or the Apple App Store you will need to contact Apple or Google for support. The same applies to canceling it.
Can I use a different email address to get another trial?
We are not going to walk you through evading an eligibility rule, and it usually does not work anyway. Membership history is tied to the Amazon account and the payment details rather than to the email address on it, so the ordinary result is that you are charged.

Sources

Everything on this page that states a program term was checked against these pages on the review date above.

Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this

Ready to start a free trial?

Start your free Audible trial

New customers only. 30 days free, then it renews automatically at the monthly rate shown at signup unless you cancel first. Terms verified 17 September 2026.

Try Kindle Unlimited free

Free trial for eligible customers. Amazon shows the length and the price on the signup page, and the trial converts to a paid month automatically unless you cancel. Terms verified 14 September 2026.

#ad · The link goes straight to Audible's own free-trial signup page and Amazon's Kindle Unlimited signup page, and we are paid a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial there. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we conclude on this page. Full disclosure.

Back to everything on Guides.