Skip to content

Promo codes and longer free trials, for Audible and Kindle Unlimited

There is no code to type in. What exists instead is a rotating set of promotional offers that replace the standard trial while they run — and one screen that tells you which one is yours.

By Stephen V.Last reviewed

Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this

Start your free Audible trial

New customers only. 30 days free, then it renews automatically at the monthly rate shown at signup unless you cancel first. Terms verified 17 September 2026.

Try Kindle Unlimited free

Free trial for eligible customers. Amazon shows the length and the price on the signup page, and the trial converts to a paid month automatically unless you cancel. Terms verified 14 September 2026.

#ad · The link goes straight to Audible's own free-trial signup page and Amazon's Kindle Unlimited signup page, and we are paid a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial there. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we conclude on this page. Full disclosure.

Discounted books stacked on a market table

There is no Audible promo code and no Kindle Unlimited promo code, at least not on any page either company publishes. What people are actually looking for when they search for one — a trial longer than the standard offer, or a few months at a reduced rate — does exist, but it arrives as a promotion attached to your account rather than as a code you type in. The offer on your own signup screen is the only one that governs.

The promo code question, answered plainly

We searched the full text of both signup pages for the words promo, promotional, coupon and code. None of them appears on either page. There is no field to redeem anything, and no instruction telling you to enter one. That is not a loophole we failed to find — it is simply not how either program is sold.

This matters because “Audible promo code” and “Kindle Unlimited promo code” are heavily served searches, and the pages that rank for them mostly cannot deliver what the title promises. What a code page typically links to is the same standard signup page you would reach by going to the site directly, with a tracking parameter attached so the referrer is credited. The parameter changes who gets paid. It does not change what you are offered.

We should be straightforward about our own position here: the links on this page carry a tracking tag too, and we are paid a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial through one. The difference we are claiming is not that our link is special — it is that we are telling you it is an ordinary link to an ordinary offer, rather than dressing it up as a code.

What Audible's trial page said on the day we checked

Audible's free-trial page states, in the fine print directly under its signup button: “New customers only. Auto-renews at $8.99/mo. after 30 days. Cancel anytime.” The page title carries the same figure. So the standard offer as published on 19 August 2026 was 30 days, for new customers, converting automatically unless canceled.

One detail in that sentence is worth slowing down for, because it is the single most common misreading of the Audible trial. The auto-renew figure quoted on the trial page is the Audible Standard rate, not the Premium Plus rate. Audible lists Premium Plus — the plan built around the monthly credit — at $14.95 a month instead. If you are working out whether a trial is worth taking, the number that matters is the one for the plan you intend to keep, and those two are not the same. What the price gap between the plans actually buys goes through that properly.

Audible Premium Plus terms verified 17 September 2026 against Audible's own membership pricing block.

What Amazon's Kindle Unlimited page does not say

The Kindle Unlimited signup page is a different situation, and an honest one to describe. It loads, it is real, and its title confirms it is the free-trial signup. But its readable text contains no trial length, no monthly price, and no terms at all — the offer is rendered by JavaScript after the page arrives, so there is nothing in the document itself to quote. Everything we could extract was Amazon's global site navigation.

Amazon's own help page confirms that “if eligible, you can sign up for a free trial of Kindle Unlimited” and that “at the end of your free trial, you're automatically converted to a monthly paid subscription plan” . It does not state how long the trial runs or what the subscription costs. So this site says a free trial for eligible customers, of a length Amazon does not state on the page we checked, and quotes the price as whatever Amazon quotes you at signup. Those are not evasions. They are the accurate answers, and they are why the Kindle Unlimited trial length is one of the most confidently wrong numbers in this category: plenty of articles print a figure, none of them can show you where they read it.

Kindle Unlimited terms verified 14 September 2026 against Amazon's help page, Understanding the Kindle Unlimited Subscription and Benefits.

So where do “3 months” and “90 days” come from?

They are not invented. People genuinely have been offered longer trials and multi-month discounted rates, and screenshots of those offers circulate. What has usually happened is one of three things, and they are worth telling apart because only one of them is actually a longer free trial.

  1. A promotional window. Amazon runs offers around its own sale events, and while one is running it can replace the standard trial for everyone who qualifies. These start and stop without announcement. What they have actually looked like in each of the last three Novembers is recorded, with dates and sources, on the Black Friday and Cyber Monday hub.
  2. A discounted rate rather than a free trial. The common shape is a few months at a reduced monthly price. This is widely repeated as a “3-month free trial” and it is not one: you are a paying subscriber from the first day, at a lower price, and it renews at the full rate when the promotional months end.
  3. An account-specific offer. Lapsed members are often shown a win-back offer instead of the standard trial, and it may be longer, shorter or a discounted rate. Our pages on whether you can get a second Audible trial and a second Kindle Unlimited trial cover what returning customers actually see.

None of these is a standing entitlement, which is why this site has a field in its terms configuration for a current promotion and leaves it empty unless we have verified one. On the date at the top of this page it was empty for both programs: the standard published offer was the only offer either company was advertising to us.

A longer trial is not automatically the better one

It is worth being unsentimental about this, because “wait for a better promotion” is advice that costs people more than it saves. Three tests decide whether any offer in front of you is worth taking.

  • Will you use the extra time? A 30-day trial you finish a book inside is worth more than a 90-day one you forget about in week two. Most people do not listen more because they have longer; they simply cancel later, or fail to.
  • What does it convert to, and when? This is the real number in every one of these offers. A discounted-rate promotion has no free period at all, so the comparison is against the standard trial, not against zero.
  • Does it leave you owning anything? Audible states that titles bought with a credit are yours to keep permanently. Kindle Unlimited borrows return when the membership ends, whatever the offer was that got you in. What you keep after canceling sets out the difference.

Applied honestly, those tests mean the standard offer is usually fine. Waiting an indefinite number of weeks for a promotion that may not come, in order to save a single month's fee, is a poor trade for almost everyone.

Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this

We get a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial through this link. It costs you nothing extra, it does not change what we conclude on this page, and the full disclosure is here.

If the standard offer is the one in front of you

The trial page will tell you what your account is actually being offered before you commit to anything. If it shows the standard terms, those are the terms we verified on the date stamped above — and if it shows something better, take that instead.

Start your free Audible trial

New customers only. 30 days free, then it renews automatically at the monthly rate shown at signup unless you cancel first. Terms verified 17 September 2026.

#ad · The button goes straight to Audible's own free-trial signup page. The offer you see there is whatever Audible is running at the moment you click, which is why we send you to look rather than printing a number that could be out of date. What we checked, and when, is on how we research.

How to see the offer attached to your own account

This takes under a minute and it is the only method that gives you a true answer, because the offer is calculated against your account rather than published.

  1. Sign in to Amazon first, in the same browser. An offer shown to a signed-out visitor is the generic one, and it may not be yours.
  2. Open the program's own signup page — you can open the Audible trial page or open the Kindle Unlimited signup page from here.
  3. Read the line directly under the button, not the headline. That is where the trial length, the renewal price and the eligibility restriction are stated.
  4. Check whether the words “free trial” actually appear. If the offer is a reduced monthly rate, it is a paid subscription and should be judged as one.
  5. If you take it, set a reminder for two days before it converts, in the same minute you sign up. Neither program prompts you before the first charge.

How to read a page that is selling you a code

Since these pages will keep appearing above this one for a while, here is how to judge one in a few seconds. None of this requires knowing anything about the programs.

  • Look for the code itself. If the page never actually shows a code, and every button goes to the normal signup page, there is no code. That is the usual case.
  • Look for a date. A page claiming a specific offer without saying when it checked is telling you about a screen it saw at an unknown point in the past.
  • Check whether it distinguishes free from discounted. A page that calls a reduced-rate promotion a free trial either has not read the offer or is hoping you will not.
  • See whether it states the eligibility rule. The Audible offer is new-customers-only, in Audible's own words. A page that omits that is describing an offer most returning readers will not be shown.

Who should not take any of these

If the reason you are hunting for a code is that the monthly fee is the sticking point, the honest answer is that the best offer in this category is not a promotion at all. A public library card gives you ebooks and audiobooks through Libby at no cost, permanently, with no trial to cancel and no card number to hand over. We are paid nothing when you do that, and it is still the right recommendation for a lot of people — where free audiobooks actually come from covers the three real sources, and how to borrow from your library walks through setting it up.

The case for a paid subscription is about catalog and convenience, not about winning a discount. If your library covers what you want to read, a promotional trial is a month of admin you did not need.

What we could not verify

Three things, stated rather than filled in. We could not verify the length of the Kindle Unlimited free trial, because Amazon does not publish it in any page we can read. We could not verify the Kindle Unlimited monthly price, for the same reason. And we cannot verify what promotion, if any, is running on the day you read this — offers are targeted at accounts and change without notice, so the only reliable source for that is the signup screen in front of you.

Everything else on this page was read on the programs' own pages on the date in the byline, and quoted rather than summarized. If a term has changed since, the screen you are shown at signup wins over anything written here — including over us.

Common questions

Is there an Audible promo code?
Not one that we could find on any Audible page. Audible's own free-trial page, loaded on 19 August 2026, has no field to enter a code and does not mention one anywhere in its text. Sites advertising an Audible promo code generally link to the same standard signup page everyone else reaches, with a tracking parameter attached rather than a discount.
Is the Audible free trial 3 months?
Not as standard. Audible's own trial page states 30 days for new customers, and that was still the wording on 19 August 2026. Longer offers do appear from time to time as promotions, and when one is running it replaces the standard trial rather than adding to it. The offer shown on your own signup screen is the one that governs.
Is there a Kindle Unlimited promo code?
Amazon's Kindle Unlimited signup page has no code field in the content we could read on 19 August 2026, and Amazon's help page does not mention one. Kindle Unlimited promotions are applied to your account and appear on the signup screen rather than being redeemed with a code.
How long is the Kindle Unlimited free trial?
Amazon does not publish the length in any page we can read. Its help page confirms a free trial is offered to eligible customers but does not state a duration, and the signup page renders the offer in JavaScript so the figure is not in the retrievable text. The length has historically varied by account and by promotion, which is why this site does not print a number for it.
Do Amazon sale events change the trial offer?
They can. Amazon runs promotions around its own sale events, and those promotions sometimes replace the standard trial with a longer free period or a discounted rate for a few months. We do not publish a calendar of these because we cannot verify one in advance, and a date we guessed wrong would be worse than no date at all.
Is a longer free trial always the better deal?
No. A longer trial is worth more only if you will actually use the extra weeks, and a discounted-rate promotion is a paid subscription from day one rather than a free trial at all. Check what the offer converts to and when, because that figure is the real cost of the decision.
Why does this page not tell me what promotion is running today?
Because promotional offers are targeted at individual accounts and change without notice, so anything we printed would be a claim about your screen that we cannot see. What we can do is state what the standard published offer was on the date at the top of this page, and show you where to read your own.

Sources

Everything on this page that states a program term was checked against these pages on the review date above.

Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this

Ready to start a free trial?

Start your free Audible trial

New customers only. 30 days free, then it renews automatically at the monthly rate shown at signup unless you cancel first. Terms verified 17 September 2026.

Try Kindle Unlimited free

Free trial for eligible customers. Amazon shows the length and the price on the signup page, and the trial converts to a paid month automatically unless you cancel. Terms verified 14 September 2026.

#ad · The link goes straight to Audible's own free-trial signup page and Amazon's Kindle Unlimited signup page, and we are paid a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial there. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we conclude on this page. Full disclosure.

Back to everything on Guides.