Skip to content

The best audiobook subscription for kids

Five routes compared on the things that actually matter for a child: who controls the account, what stops them finding the wrong book, and whether anybody is paying for it.

By Stephen V.Last reviewed

Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this

Start your free Audible trial

New customers only. 30 days free, then it renews automatically at the monthly rate shown at signup unless you cancel first. Terms verified 17 September 2026.

Try Kindle Unlimited free

Free trial for eligible customers. Amazon shows the length and the price on the signup page, and the trial converts to a paid month automatically unless you cancel. Terms verified 14 September 2026.

#ad · The link goes straight to Audible's own free-trial signup page and Amazon's Kindle Unlimited signup page, and we are paid a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial there. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we conclude on this page. Full disclosure.

A child wearing headphones listening at home

The question people type is about catalogs. The question that actually decides it is about accounts. Every paid option here is an adult subscription with a child using it, which means the real comparison is not “who has the most children's books” but “what happens when a nine-year-old is holding the tablet”.

The five routes, on what matters

Library apps, Amazon Kids+, Kindle Unlimited, Audible and Spotify compared for children
RouteCostBuilt for children?The catch
Library appFree with a library cardCollections are, the app is neutralHolds on popular titles; catalog varies by system
Amazon Kids+Price renders in JavaScript — not stated hereYes, entirelyA media bundle, not an audiobook service
Kindle Unlimitedwhatever Amazon quotes you at signupNo — an adult account20 titles at a time, shared across the household
Audible$14.95 a monthNo — an adult accountOne credit a month is one children's title a month
Spotify PremiumIncluded with an existing planNo15 hours a month, and only for the plan manager

Audible and Kindle Unlimited figures render from our verified terms config, with the dates on the terms table further down. Library, Amazon Kids+ and Spotify facts were read on those companies' own pages on 17 September 2026.

Start with the library, and mean it

Children's audiobooks are one of the strongest categories in public library digital lending, because children re-listen and libraries buy for that. Libby's own help page states plainly: “All you need is a library card.” Loans download for offline use and return themselves, which removes the two things that usually go wrong with a child and a borrowed file.

The honest limitation is holds. A newly popular series will have a queue, and a child who wants that book today does not care about queue theory. That is the case for a paid option — but it is a case you should make after finding out what your library actually has, not before. Audible versus Libby takes the comparison seriously and we earn nothing from the winner.

Amazon Kids+: the only one designed for the job

Amazon's own Kids+ page describes the subscription as ad-free books, games, shows, apps and audio “from beloved brands like PBS Kids and Disney, plus exclusive Amazon Kids+ Originals”, and places it inside Amazon's family parental-control tooling rather than inside a general Amazon account.

That is a genuine architectural difference from everything else here, and it is the reason it belongs in the comparison even though it is not an audiobook service. The trade is equally real: it is a media bundle in which audio is one component, so a child who specifically wants full-length audiobooks of the novels they are reading will find it a poor fit. We could not read its price — that figure renders in JavaScript on Amazon's page — and we are not going to print one from anywhere else.

Kindle Unlimited for a child who reads as well as listens

Kindle Unlimited is a reading subscription with some narration in it rather than an audiobook service. Amazon's help page tells you how to find the audio: look for the “with Narration” headset icon on Kindle book pages. It also states the borrow limit — “Borrow up to 20 titles at a time… all with no due dates” — and warns that “titles in the Kindle Unlimited catalog can change at any time”.

For a household, the 20-title limit is the number to plan around: it is per subscription, not per person, and Amazon says content can be shared with Amazon Family members. Two enthusiastic children will reach twenty faster than you expect. Kindle Unlimited for kids goes into the catalog side, and family sharing into who can see what.

Audible for a child

Audible's catalog has a children's section and the app is the same one adults use. The awkwardness is structural: one credit a month buys one children's title a month, and children's audiobooks are frequently short. Spending a $14.95 credit on a two-hour picture-book recording is poor value in a way that spending it on a twenty-hour novel is not.

Where it does work well is the family car and the long series. One credit on a long, well-produced title that three people will listen to together is the best value on this page — audiobooks for road trips is about exactly that problem. And Audible family sharing covers what can and cannot be passed between household accounts.

The supervision question, which no comparison table answers

Audible and Kindle Unlimited are your accounts. A child browsing either is browsing an adult store, with your payment method attached and the whole catalog visible. That is not a scandal — it is just a design fact that families discover late, usually in the browsing history.

The workable arrangements are the boring ones: an adult chooses and downloads, the child listens in the app; or the child uses a library app on their own device where nothing can be bought; or you use a product built for children and accept that it is a bundle rather than a bookshop. For older children the same problem changes shape rather than going away, which is what Kindle Unlimited for teenagers is about.

What we would actually do

Library first, for a month, with a real attempt at finding what your system holds. If the child listens and the holds are the problem, a trial on whichever paid service has the series they are chasing — with the cancellation reminder set on day one. If the child does not listen, you have learned that for nothing, which is the single most valuable outcome on this page. Audiobooks for kids covers choosing titles that will not put them off.

Kindle Unlimited: what we could verify

Verified 14 September 2026

Kindle Unlimited terms as verified against Amazon's help page, Understanding the Kindle Unlimited Subscription and Benefits on 14 September 2026
Cost per monthNot published in a page we can read — see below
Free trialA trial exists for eligible customers; the length is not stated on the page we checked
Who can take itAmazon's help page says a free trial is available to eligible customers, and that you need an Amazon account with a current, valid payment method to use the subscription. Amazon does not publish the full eligibility rule in the pages we can read, so check what your own account is offered at signup.

Checked against Amazon's help page, Understanding the Kindle Unlimited Subscription and Benefits on 14 September 2026. How we check these.

What we could not confirm

  • The monthly price. Amazon renders it in JavaScript on the signup page, and the Kindle Unlimited Terms of Use did not state a figure in the content we could retrieve. We are not going to print a number we could not read on an Amazon page, so this site shows the price as something to check at signup.
  • The length of the free trial. Amazon's help page confirms a trial exists for eligible customers but does not state how long it runs, and the length has historically varied by account and by promotion.
  • The size of the catalog. Amazon does not publish a figure we could confirm, and it states that the catalog changes at any time.

Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this

We get a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial through this link. It costs you nothing extra, it does not change what we conclude on this page, and the full disclosure is here.

If a month-long test is the next step

A trial answers the only question that matters here — whether your child will actually listen — and it costs nothing if you cancel before it converts. Terms and the date we checked them are on our Audible free trial page.

Start your free Audible trial

New customers only. 30 days free, then it renews automatically at the monthly rate shown at signup unless you cancel first. Terms verified 17 September 2026.

#ad · The button goes straight to Audible's own free-trial signup page. The offer you see there is whatever Audible is running at the moment you click, which is why we send you to look rather than printing a number that could be out of date. What we checked, and when, is on how we research.

Common questions

What is the best audiobook subscription for kids?
For most families, the library app is. It is free, the children's collections in public libraries are deep, and nothing about a child's listening habit justifies a monthly fee until the library has been tried and found wanting.
Is Audible good for children?
The catalog has a children's section and the app works fine, but the account model is adult-shaped: it is your account, your payment method and your library. For a child who listens independently that is a supervision question rather than a catalog question.
Does Kindle Unlimited have children's books?
Yes, and some carry narration — Amazon's help page says to look for the 'with Narration' headset icon on Kindle book pages. Amazon also states the catalog can change at any time, so a title that is included this month may not be next.
What is Amazon Kids+?
A separate Amazon subscription. Amazon's own page describes it as ad-free books, games, shows, apps and audio for children, from brands including PBS Kids and Disney, plus Amazon Kids+ Originals. Its price renders in JavaScript on that page, so we do not print one.
Can children use Spotify's audiobook hours?
Spotify's own page says the monthly listening hours are available to Premium Individual subscribers and to Duo and Family plan managers only — the plan manager, not every member. For a family that makes it an adult's allowance rather than a child's.
How many audiobooks can a family share on Kindle Unlimited?
Amazon's help page states a 20-title borrow limit at a time and says content can be shared with Amazon Family members. Shared borrowing draws on that same limit, so a family of readers hits it faster than one reader does.
Is a free trial a sensible way to test this with a child?
Yes, if you treat it as a test and set the cancellation reminder the same day. A month is long enough to find out whether a child will actually listen, which is the real unknown and is not answerable from a catalog.
What about car journeys specifically?
That is a different problem — one title that works for several ages at once, downloaded before you leave. Our road trips guide covers what survives six hours in a car with other people in it.

Sources

Everything on this page that states a program term was checked against these pages on the review date above.

Advertising disclosure · we are paid for this

Ready to start a free trial?

Start your free Audible trial

New customers only. 30 days free, then it renews automatically at the monthly rate shown at signup unless you cancel first. Terms verified 17 September 2026.

Try Kindle Unlimited free

Free trial for eligible customers. Amazon shows the length and the price on the signup page, and the trial converts to a paid month automatically unless you cancel. Terms verified 14 September 2026.

#ad · The link goes straight to Audible's own free-trial signup page and Amazon's Kindle Unlimited signup page, and we are paid a flat fee if you start a qualifying trial there. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we conclude on this page. Full disclosure.

Back to everything on Compare.